Nov 21, 2011- Kessler to Keep Senate Leadership Team

By: Michael Hyland
By: Michael Hyland

Senate President Jeff Kessler (D-Marshall) announced Monday he's keeping his leadership team intact.

There are no significant changes coming to the Senate leadership team, Senate President Jeff Kessler (D-Marshall) announced Monday.

There had been speculation following last Monday's caucus vote whether any of the senators who backed Brooks McCabe (D-Kanawha) for president would lose their committee chairmanships.

From today's news release:



Additionally, Kessler’s major committee chairs have been re-appointed.  Those are Senator Corey Palumbo (D-Kanawha) as Judiciary Chairman; Senator Roman Prezioso (D-Marion) as Finance Chairman; Senator Herb Snyder (D-Jefferson) as Government Organization Chairman; Senator Ron Stollings (D-Boone) as Health & Human Resources Chairman; and Senator Robert Plymale (D-Wayne) as Education Chairman.

“Over the last year, the members of my leadership team have proven to be capable and hardworking,” says Kessler.  “They have demonstrated their willingness to work with me in any capacity and participate in open and frank discussions to move West Virginia forward."

On his leadership team, Kessler is keeping Senator Joe Minard (D-Harrison) as President Pro Tempore; Senator John Unger (D-Berkeley) as Majority Leader; and Senator Richard Browning (D-Wyoming) as Majority Whip.                                

Read More Blogs
Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WSAZ NewsChannel 3 645 Fifth Avenue Huntington, WV 25701 304-697-4780 WSAZ Charleston 111 Columbia Avenue Charleston, WV 25302 304-344-3521
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability
Gray Television, Inc.