Laird Named Majority Whip for W.Va. Senate

By: The Associated Press Email
By: The Associated Press Email

CHARLESTON, W.Va. (AP) -- West Virginia Senate President Jeff Kessler is keeping his top leadership team intact, with two additions.

Kessler on Monday named Sen. William Laid of Fayette County as majority whip and Wetzel County Sen. Larry Edgell as president pro tempore.

The 60-day regular session begins Feb. 13.

Edgell replaces Joe Minard, who resigned to become Senate Clerk. Laird succeeds Richard Browning, who lost last year's Democratic primary.

Majority Leader John Unger of Berkeley County will remain at that post.

The major committee leaders include Finance Chair Roman Prezioso of Marion County, Judiciary Chair Corey Palumbo of Kanawha County and Education Chair Robert Plymale of Cabell County.

Boone County physician Ron Stollings will continue atop Health and Human Resources. Government Organization Chair Herb Snyder of Jefferson County rounds out the top roster.

WSAZ NewsChannel 3 645 Fifth Avenue Huntington, WV 25701 304-697-4780 WSAZ Charleston 111 Columbia Avenue Charleston, WV 25302 304-344-3521
Gray Television, Inc. - Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 187775301 -