W.Va. Board of Education Lists Schools in Need of Extra Help

CHARLESTON, W.Va. (WSAZ) -- Work is being done to improve education in the Mountain State by focusing on schools that need it the most.

The West Virginia Board of Education has come up with a priority list of schools they say are the lowest performing.

Education leaders hope by making this list and putting more focus on those schools, things will turn around.

There are 730 public schools in West Virginia. The list consists of the 32 with the lowest reading, language arts and math scores.

The office of school improvement is looking at each one individually to identify the root causes -- whether it be leadership issues, the education process or even the community where the schools are located.

They will then work on a weekly basis for the next three years to fix those problems and improve student achievement.

“No one wants to be identified as having issues, but they (the schools) have all been great to support and talk about that they're ready to move forward,” Michele Blatt, the office of school improvement’s executive director, said.

Blatt says they're looking at the whole picture, and not just raising the test scores.

The schools on the list include:

  • Philippi Middle (Barbour County)
  • Junior Elementary (Barbour County)
  • Burke Street Elementary (Berkeley County)
  • Braxton County High (Braxton County)
  • Peyton Elementary (Cabell County)
  • Enslow Middle (Cabell County)
  • Ansted Elementary (Fayette County)
  • Collins Middle (Fayette County)
  • Union Educational Complex (Grant County)
  • Hampshire Senior High (Hampshire County)
  • Mary C. Snow West Side Elementary (Kanawha County)
  • Watts Elementary (Kanawha County)
  • JE Robins Elementary (Kanawha County)
  • Lincoln County High (Lincoln County)
  • Midway Elementary (Lincoln County)
  • Buffalo Elementary (Logan County)
  • Man Senior High (Logan County)
  • Chapmanville Regional High (Logan County)
  • Spanishburg School (Mercer County)
  • Gilbert Middle (Mingo County)
  • Williamson Middle (Mingo County)
  • Southside K-8 (McDowell County)
  • Mount View High (McDowell County)
  • Tunnelton-Denver Elementary (Preston County)
  • Summers County High School (Summers County)
  • Anna Jarvis Elementary (Taylor County)
  • East Lynn Elementary (Wayne County)
  • Wayne Middle (Wayne County)
  • Webster County High (Webster County)
  • Glade Middle (Webster County)
  • Jefferson Elementary (Wood County)
  • Franklin Elementary (Wood County)

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WSAZ NewsChannel 3 645 Fifth Avenue Huntington, WV 25701 304-697-4780 WSAZ Charleston 111 Columbia Avenue Charleston, WV 25302 304-344-3521
Gray Television, Inc. - Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 202777761 - wsaz.com/a?a=202777761