HUNTINGTON, W.Va. (WSAZ) -- A new policy put into place by the owners of Facebook has some users riled up, and now they're trying to make amends.
A couple of weeks ago the site changed its policy, allowing Facebook to own your content-- even if you leave the site.
Now Facebook Chief Policy Officer Chris Kelly says they have returned to their old user agreement.
“Because of the lack of clarity and confusion, we wanted to be very, very clear with users on how important their trust is with us and roll back to the old terms of service,” Kelly said.
The key change is a line that says when you delete your content, Facebook no longer has the right to use it.
Facebook made the change late Tuesday and now says it wants to make it very clear, you own your information.
“We want to make it as clear as facebook, we're going to cease sharing that information,” Kelly said.
Privacy groups say they will now push for stronger internet privacy laws to protect users' information - to keep this issue from coming up again with other websites.