Mingo County Voters Elect New Slate of Officials

By: The Associated Press Email
By: The Associated Press Email

WILLIAMSON, W.Va. (AP) -- Mingo County voters have elected a new slate of officials in the wake of a federal corruption investigation.

Voters in Tuesday's primary elected family court judge Miki Thompson as circuit judge, interim prosecutor Teresa Maynard as prosecutor, Jim Hatfield as a county commissioner and Jim Harvey as a magistrate. They'll fill the unexpired terms of previous office holders who resigned after they were convicted in federal court in Charleston.

Voters also elected James Smith as Mingo County sheriff. He was appointed interim sheriff by the county commission after Sheriff Eugene Crum was fatally shot in April 2013.

Because there were no Republicans candidates in those races, the Democrats will have no opposition in the November general election.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WSAZ NewsChannel 3 645 Fifth Avenue Huntington, WV 25701 304-697-4780 WSAZ Charleston 111 Columbia Avenue Charleston, WV 25302 304-344-3521
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 259169221 - wsaz.com/a?a=259169221
Gray Television, Inc.