Softball Class AAA All-State Team Released

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

In a year when the Class Triple-A All-State softball team was dominated by pitchers, it was the performance of a corner infielder that stood out the most.

East Fairmont first baseman Alli Mayle led the Bees to their
second consecutive state tournament appearance. She hit .479 with a
state-leading 13 home runs and 49 R-B-I's.

Mayle was named captain of the first team today by members of
the West Virginia Sports Writers Association.

Mayle and five other first-team selections from 2006 are repeat
honorees this year.

Pitchers Margaret Osborne of St. Albans and Lexi Rodgers of
Martinsburg also return to the first team, as does utility player
Megan Holmes of Musselman and outfielders Kristen Golden of Lewis
County and Brittany Handley of St. Albans.

First Team
P-Margaret Osborne, St. Albans, sr
P-Lexi Rodgers, Martinsburg, sr
P-Chelsea Cobb, South Charleston, soph
P-Kayla Stinson, Huntington, jr
P-Caitlin Kocher, Brooke, sr
IF-Kim Nutter, Nicholas County, jr
IF-Alli Mayle, East Fairmont, jr (Captain)
IF-Brittany Tallhamer, Parkersburg South, sr
IF-Mereaha Cooper, Riverside, jr
IF-Mary Hohman, Wheeling Park, jr
OF-Kristen Golden, Lewis County, sr
OF-Brittney Handley, St. Albans, jr
OF-Chelsea Simon, Robert C. Byrd, jr
OF-Brittany Napier, Huntington, jr
U-Amanda Strong, Parkersburg South, sr
U-Morgan Elswick, Nicholas County, jr
U-Megan Holmes, Musselman, sr
C-Mary Mayer, Robert C. Byrd, jr
Second Team
P-Stacia Jackson, Spring Valley, soph
P-Heather Mills, Lincoln County, sr
P-Rachel Filus, East Fairmont, sr
P-Jessica Shirley, Hedgesville, soph
IF-Ashley Morris, East Fairmont, sr
IF-Emily Pritt, Riverside, sr
IF-Micah Hitt, Lewis County, sr
IF-Kiara Chappelle, Huntington, fr
OF-Katy Brown, South Charleston, jr
OF-Erica Bradford, Nicholas County, fr
OF-Kaitlyn Thorsell, Jefferson, sr
U-Samantha Snodgrass, South Charleston, fr
U-Whitney Mathias, Musselman, jr
U-Andrea Reed, Bridgeport, sr
C-Desiree Streyle, Morgantown, jr
C-Amanda Jenkins, Nicholas County, sr (Captain)
Special Honorable Mention
Amy Potts, Bridgeport; Meredith Baisden, Cabell Midland; Amber
Golden, East Fairmont; Emily Keener, Faimont; Mary Donato,
Fairmont; Samantha Nazelrod, Hedgesville; Lexi Svingos, Huntington;
Sarah Swoger, John Marshall; Sydney Pudder, Lewis; Corey Tucker,
Lewis; Brittany Likens, Lincoln; Lacey Williams, Musselman; Katie
Fluharty, Parkersburg; Katelyn Porter, Parkersburg South; Michelle
Sayre, Ripley; Aaryka Anglin, Robert C. Byrd; Ally Ross, South
Charleston; Morgan Stickler, Spring Valley; Stephanie Vankirk,
University; Lisa Boswell, Lori Boswell, Riverside; Angel Withrow,
Nitro; Paige Merrifield, George Washington; Markayla Caudill, St.
Albans; Alex Furr, Hurricane; Shannon Hedrick, Brooke Hinkle,
Greenbrier East; Katie Shaffer, Nicholas County; Christine Czekaj,
Woodrow Wilson.
Honorable Mention
Morgan Nickerson, Bridgeport; Marissa Rearden, Brooke; Ashley
Gue, Cabell Midland; Laura Mader, Cabell Midland; Madonna Gribble,
East Fairmont; Kayla Field, East Fairmont; Chelsea Oals,
Hedgesville; Sam Spurlock, Huntington; Mileah Mason, Hurricane;
Stephanie Phillips, John Marshall; Brooke Foster, Lewis; Jalen
Hefner, Parkersburg; Abbey Wilson, Parkersburg South; Tabitha Hill,
Parkersburg South; Lauren Swisher, Ripley; Adrienne Daniels, Robert
C. Byrd; Kati Bailey, Spring Valley; Alexa Macri, Spring Valley;
Ali Holmes, South Charleston; Kylie Bebout, University; Corie
Lynch, Greenbrier East; Shannon Shafer, Nicholas County; Mikaila
Hutchens, Woodrow Wilson; Katie Still, Kalee Jordan, Nitro; Kayli
Carter, St. Albans; Emily Pettit, Nicole Haupt, George Washington.

WSAZ NewsChannel 3 645 Fifth Avenue Huntington, WV 25701 304-697-4780 WSAZ Charleston 111 Columbia Avenue Charleston, WV 25302 304-344-3521
Gray Television, Inc. - Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 7927947 -