AP Names Class AAA All-State Team

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

Hurricane's baseball team failed to reach the state tournament this season, but the Redskins placed the most players on the Class Triple-A all-state team.

Pitcher and shortstop Arik Sikula heads the list of Hurricane
talent. He's joined on the first team by outfielder-pitcher Kyle
Blank. Center fielder Cam Dunlavy made the second team.

Sikula batted .439 with five home runs and 27 stolen bases. On
the mound he was 7-and-1 with 74 strikeouts and a
one-point-three-zero earned-run average.

Joining Sikula as first-team pitchers are Huntington's Patrick
Arnold, Jefferson's Jonathan Hash and John Marshall's Shane Pysh.

Spring Valley's Willie Bays made the first team as a utility
player for the second straight season. Other repeat first teamers
are University infielder Jedd Gyorko (JOR'-koh) and John Marshall
infielder-pitcher Cy Mozingo.

P-Arik Sikula, Hurricane (capt.), sr.
P-Patrick Arnold, Huntington, sr.
P-Shane Pysh, John Marshall, sr.
P-Jonathan Hash, Jefferson, sr.
C-Lanny Meadows, Woodrow Wilson, soph.
IF-Jedd Gyorko, University, sr.
IF-Seth Frye, Cabell Midland, sr.
IF-Sam Belcastro, Bridgeport, sr.
IF-Ben Hupp, Parkersburg, sr.
OF-Kyle Blank, Hurricane, sr.
OF-Chase Pickering, Nitro, jr.
OF-Dominique Daniels, Greenbrier East, sr.
UTL-Willie Bays, Spring Valley, sr.
UTL-Cy Mozingo, John Marshall, sr.
UTL-Jake Kight, Nitro, sr.
UTL-Mark Darlington, Musselman, sr.
P-Brandon King, Martinsburg (capt.), soph.
P-Brandon Campbell, Jefferson, jr.
P-Ross Ware, Elkins, sr.
P-Cole Hardway, Buckhannon-Upshur, sr.
C-Adam Lewton, Wheeling Park, sr.
IF-T.J. Feazelle, St. Albans, jr.
IF-Brycen Ferguson, Huntington, sr.
IF-Drew Stevens, Jefferson, sr.
IF-John Bernard, Ripley, sr.
OF-Cam Dunlavy, Hurricane, sr.
OF-Nick Canterbury, South Charleston, sr.
OF-Matt Tiano, Jefferson, sr.
UTL-Ryan Zelinski, John Marshall, sr.
UTL-Tommy Mallory, St. Albans, jr.
UTL-Brandon Cumpston, Bridgeport, jr.
UTL-Drew Trump, Woodrow Wilson, sr.
UTL-Brent Dodrill, Fairmont Senior, sr.
P-Dan Smead, Greenbrier East; Seth Allen, Woodrow Wilson; Jason
McGinnis, Cabell Midland; Danny Rhan, St. Albans; Wes Ankrom,
Parkersburg; Andrew Saab, Morgantown; Kevin Holdsworth, University;
Kevin Pritt, Elkins.
C-Thor Meeks, Hurricane; Patrick Stapleton, Cabell Midland;
Dustin Baker, Parkersburg South; Zach Nair, Morgantown; Kevin
Griffin, Martinsburg.
IF-Lucas Lemine, Greenbrier East; Chase Smith, Nicholas County;
Chase Chapman, Huntington; Brett Costello, East Fairmont; Matt
Pizatella, East Fairmont; Jack Hudson, South Charleston; Nick
Veazey, Riverside; Justin Henry, Hurricane; Gavin Patton, George
Washington; Sammy McCarthy, Parkersburg; Anthony Flinn, Parkersburg
South; Garrett Smith, Spring Valley.
OF-Josh Norman, Greenbrier East; Joey Buonaiuto, Fairmont
Senior; Joey Potesta, East Fairmont; Shad Fox, Nitro; Jason Smith,
George Washington; Ian Rebrook, Capital; Mike Williams, South
Charleston; J.R. Tenney, Buckhannon-Upshur; Mike Davis, Bridgeport;
Clay Crabtree, Spring Valley; Justin Grantham, Jefferson.
UTL-Kevin O'Donnell, Woodrow Wilson; Bryan Hughes, Nicholas
County; Drew Cummings, Huntington; C.J. Meadows, St. Albans; J.R.
Bradley, Nitro; Brett Barber, Hurricane; Donnie Platt, Wheeling
Park; Corey Brown, Wheeling Park; Zane Madden, John Marshall; Jesse
Simmons, Hedgesville.
P-Ryan Robinson, Riverside; Mike Hamilton, Parkersburg South;
Paul Chenoweth, Martinsburg.
C-Scott Westcott, Huntington; Brandon Croy, Princeton; Ben
Huffman, George Washington; Derek Arbogast, Lewis County.
IF-Allen Level, Greenbrier East; Drew Retton, Fairmont Senior;
T.J. Fisher, St. Albans; Adam Batty, Capital; Andrew Pickering,
Nitro; Richard Kestner, Ripley; Brett Barnette, Ripley; Kyle Fleak,
Parkersburg South; Derek Gilbert, Bridgeport; Adam Wakefield,
Cabell Midland.
OF-Hunter Sabbag, Greenbrier East; Zach Goad, Cabell Midland;
Trey King, South Charleston; Billy Smith, Hurricane; Tyler Pauley,
St. Albans; Zach Wright, Bridgeport; Zach Harrison, Spring Valley;
Matt Stewart, Hedgesville; Seth Quirk, North Marion; Bryant Woods,
UTL-Wes Persinger, Nicholas County; Kyle Allard, Fairmont
Senior; Keith Taylor, Princeton; Nathan Gainer, Elkins; Dillon
Mangino, Wheeling Park; Brad Evans, Brooke; Carson Koontz, John
Marshall; Heath Booton, Spring Valley; Josh Wade, Lincoln County.

WSAZ NewsChannel 3 645 Fifth Avenue Huntington, WV 25701 304-697-4780 WSAZ Charleston 111 Columbia Avenue Charleston, WV 25302 304-344-3521
Gray Television, Inc. - Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 8042342 - wsaz.com/a?a=8042342