Former Cabell MIdland Star wins WV Women's Am

By: WVGA Media Relations
By: WVGA Media Relations

Charleston— Ona’s Brooke Bellomy has won her first West Virginia Women’s Amateur Championship today at Berry Hills Country Club. The Campbell University golfer shot a three round total of 217, 7-over-par. Shepherdstown’s Kimberly Eaton was the Championship’s Runner-up, finishing eight strokes behind Bellomy.

Finishing third overall was Vienna’s Natalie Cooke, who was also the Championship flight winner. Shepherdstown’s Karen Kinnett won the first flight by two strokes, while Lisa Younis, also of Shepherdstown, won the second flight by just one stroke over Elkview’s Sheila Holstein. St. Albans’ Cynthia Maret and South Charleston’s Maclyn McCall both finished at 290 in the third flight, with McCall taking top honors in a playoff. In the final flight, Laurie Quinn, of Middleburg, Va., took first place by six strokes.

Parkersburg Country Club won this year’s Maggie Drennen trophy, given to the club with the lowest combined four scores (over all three rounds). Charleston’s Allie Persily won the Roger Dean award, given to the low net player of the Championship. Persily shot a 195 net score. Low senior golfer this year was Hurricane’s Karyn Engel, who also finished fourth overall. Winning the low junior award was Vienna’s Lauryn Davidson, who shot a three round total of 245, finishing third in the first flight.

For more information on the 2012 WV Women’s Amateur, including hole-by-hole player results, course statistics and more, visit

Please see below for final results from the 80th West Virginia Women’s Amateur Championship.

RESULTS (Par 70, 5,023 yards)


Brooke Bellomy, Ona, W.Va. - 71-73-73--217

Kimberly Eaton, Shepherdstown, W.Va. - 74-78-73--225

Natalie Cooke, Vienna, W.Va. - 74-79-75--228

Karyn Engel, Hurricane, W.Va. - 79-73-79--231

Samantha DiDomenico, Follansbee, W.Va. - 75-77-81--233

Caroline Ramsey, Bridgeport, W.Va. - 80-72-82--234

Haygen Mowder, St. Clairsville, Ohio - 78-75-86--239

Daneen Shears, Elizabeth, W.Va. - 76-83-83--242

Patti Maroney, Glen Dale, W.Va. - 76-81-87--244

Flight 1

Karen Hacker Kinnett, Shepherdstown, W.Va. - 83-78-77--238

Sue Goldcamp, Parkersburg, W.Va. - 76-85-79--240

Lauryn Davidson, Vienna, W.Va. - 85-79-81--245

Claytina Shepherd, Beckley, W.Va. - 79-87-83--249

Candy Rollyson, Barboursville, W.Va. - 84-82-87--253

Tina L. Phillips, Wheeling, W.Va. - 82-86-90--258

Susan Zappin, Huntington, W.Va. - 85-86-93--264

Allie Persily, Charleston, W.Va. - 85-87-95--267

Mary Payne, Charleston, W.Va. - 87-87-93--267

Adeena Shears, Elizabeth, W.Va. - 86-84-DQ--DQ

Flight 2

Lisa Younis, Shepherdstown, W.Va. - 90-93-92--275

Sheila Holstein, Elkview, W.Va. - 95-90-91--276

Barbara Astorg, Vienna, W.Va. - 89-93-95--277

Sherie Burns, Wheeling, W.Va. - 89-94-95--278

Stacey Duty, Cross Lanes, W.Va. - 94-95-89--278

Mrs Karen Sutton, Clarksburg, W.Va. - 96-92-93--281

Rose Wayland, Hedgesville, W.Va. - 98-87-96--281

Diana Watkins, Elizabeth, W.Va. - 90-100-98--288

Flight 3

Cynthia Maret, St. Albans, W.Va. - 101-97-92--290

Maclyn McCall, South Charleston, W.Va. - 102-95-93--290

Julie Stricker, Charleston, W.Va. - 98-100-94--292

Kathy Chesley, Charleston, W.Va. - 92-104-96--292

Brenda Valentine, Charleston, W.Va. - 103-91-99--293

Katie Breanne Cyfers, Man, W.Va. - 96-99-99--294

Annette Thayer, Hernshaw, W.Va. - 99-101-95--295

Joan Muriale, Huntington, W.Va. - 105-95-110--310

Flight 4

Laurie Quinn, Middeleburg, Va. - 103-98-92--293

Lois Kinneer, Hurricane, W.Va. - 99-102-98--299

Linda Deem, Vienna, W.Va. - 100-104-108--312

Terri Mount, Ona, W.Va. - 109-105-103--317

Cindy Davis, Bridgeport, W.Va. - 101-112-112--325

Judy White, Charleston, W.Va. - 107-101-118--326

Marge Dorsey, Davis, W.Va. - 101-114-112--327

Nicole Archer, Elkview, W.Va. - 122-106-107--335

Janice Tomblin, Alum Creek, W.Va. - 115-123-121--359

WSAZ NewsChannel 3 645 Fifth Avenue Huntington, WV 25701 304-697-4780 WSAZ Charleston 111 Columbia Avenue Charleston, WV 25302 304-344-3521
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 163955396 -
Gray Television, Inc.