WVIAC Schools Joining New Conferences

By: The Associated Press Email
By: The Associated Press Email

CHARLESTON, W.Va. (AP) - Twelve colleges in West Virginia, Ohio and Virginia are forming an all-sports athletic conference in NCAA Division II.

The presidents of the schools announced the formation of the Mountain East Conference on Monday. Competition will begin in fall 2013.

Nine of the schools are currently members of the West Virginia Conference: Concord, Fairmont State, Glenville State, Shepherd, the University of Charleston, West Liberty, West Virginia State, Wheeling Jesuit and West Virginia Wesleyan.

The members from Ohio are Notre Dame College and Urbana. The other member is Virginia-Wise.

UVa-Wise has been accepted into the NCAA membership process and will compete in Division II in 2013 while pursuing full membership.

On Sunday night, Alderson-Broaddus College announced it is leaving the WVIAC to join the new Great Midwest Athletic Conference next year.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WSAZ NewsChannel 3 645 Fifth Avenue Huntington, WV 25701 304-697-4780 WSAZ Charleston 111 Columbia Avenue Charleston, WV 25302 304-344-3521
Gray Television, Inc. - Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 166755076 - wsaz.com/a?a=166755076