Austin, Bailey on Biletnikoff List

By: WVU Media Relations
By: WVU Media Relations

(TALLAHASSEE, FL) West Virginia senior receiver Tavon Austin and junior receiver Stedman Bailey have been named to the 2012 Biletnikoff Award Preseason Watch List as announced today by The Tallahassee Quarterback Club (TQC) Foundation, Inc.

The award annually recognizes the outstanding receiver in college football. The recipient is selected by the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee, a group of over 180 prominent football journalists, commentators, and receivers. The 2012 winner will be presented live on December 6, 2012, on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show to be broadcast from 7:30 - 9:30pm on ESPN. Foundation Chairman Walter Manley, II, announced that the Biletnikoff Award winner will receive his trophy before 600 patrons at the Biletnikoff Award Banquet at the University Center Club at Doak Campbell Stadium in Tallahassee on Saturday, February 9, 2013.

Larry Csonka will deliver the keynote address (following a tradition of distinguished keynoters like Bart Starr, Steve Largent, Mike Ditka, Don Shula, Dan Reeves, Archie Manning, and Dan Fouts) and recognize the Foundation's fifteen scholarship recipients who will receive from the Foundation well over $200,000 in college scholarships. The Foundation's charitable mission is to provide college scholarships to North Florida high school seniors who have overcome significant barriers to achieve at the highest academic and extra-curricular levels.

The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc. will announce the ten Biletnikoff Award semifinalists on November 12, 2012, following the vote by the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee. Likewise, the three finalists will be declared, following another vote, on November 19, 2012. For complete details and updates of interest, together with weekly statistics and news of the Biletnikoff Award candidates, please consult the Foundation website at

The name Biletnikoff is synonymous with the term receiver. Fred Biletnikoff, a member of the pro and college football halls of fame, was an All-Pro receiver with the Oakland Raiders and an All-America receiver at Florida State University. He caught 589 passes for 8,974 yards and 76 touchdowns in his 14-year Raiders career from 1965 through 1978. Fred was the Most Valuable Player of Super Bowl XI.

The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc. created the Biletnikoff Award in 1994. Sixteen college receivers have won the award, including Randy Moss, Calvin Johnson, Michael Crabtree, and Larry Fitzgerald. Foundation Selection Committee Chairman Ritchie Pickron noted, "The 2012 Biletnikoff Award Preseason Watch List contains one of the most talented fields in recent memory. We are expecting an extremely competitive contest among the receivers to win the Biletnikoff Award."

About the Biletnikoff Award

The Biletnikoff Award is presented annually to the nation's outstanding college football receiver (the award defines receiver as any player who catches a pass) by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc. (TQC). The TQC Foundation, Inc. is an independent, charitable organization that was founded in 1994. Present Chairman and Founding Trustee, Professor Walter W. Manley II, Founding Trustee L. Thomas Cox, Jr., Founding Trustee Rocky Bevis, and Founding Trustee Bob Teel established the award and the TQC Foundation, Inc. that sponsors it. Many more trustees have contributed to its development as one of the most prominent awards in college football.

The idea of a college receiver's award was not a novel one, as a number of organizations throughout America considered establishing it; however, the TQC Foundation, Inc. joined the idea to the organization's vision and created an outstanding award and dynamic organization. The trophy, presented to each winner, is the most beautiful individual award in college football - it has won several national awards for design excellence and aesthetic appeal.

2012 Biletnikoff Award Preseason Watch List
(listed in alphabetical order)

Player School Year

Jared Abbrederis Wisconsin JR

Keenan Allen California JR

Tavon Austin West Virginia SR

Stedman Bailey West Virginia JR

Emory Blake Auburn SR

Josh Boyce TCU JR

Jheranie Boyd North Carolina SR

Corey Brown Ohio State JR

Dan Buckner Arizona SR

Michael Campanaro Wake Forest JR

Duron Carter Alabama JR

DeVonte Christopher Utah SR

Keenan Davis Iowa SR

Marcus Davis Virgina Tech SR

Mike Davis Texas JR

Andre Debose Florida JR

Aaron Dobson Marshall SR

Noel Grigsby San Jose State JR

Cobi Hamilton Arkansas SR

Nick Harwell Miami (Ohio) JR

Willie Haulstead Florida State JR

Erik Highsmith North Carolina SR

Cody Hoffman BYU JR

DeAndre Hopkins Clemson JR

Justin Hunter Tennessee JR

Allen Hurns Miami (FL) JR

Darius Johnson SMU SR

TJ Jones Notre Dame JR

Tavarres King Georgia SR

Alec Lemon Syracuse SR

Colin Lockett San Diego St. JR

Jordan Matthews Vanderbilt JR

Matt Miller Boise State SO

TJ Moe Missouri SR

Uzoma Nwachukwu Texas A&M SR

Quinton Patton La. Tech SR

Tevin Reese Baylor JR

Da'Rick Rogers Tennessee JR

Roy Roundtree Michigan SR

Mike Shanahan Pittsburgh SR

Kenny Stills Oklahoma JR

Devin Street Pittsburgh JR

Ryan Swope Texas A&M SR

Conner Vernon Duke SR

Eric Ward Texas Tech JR

Markus Wheaton Oregon State SR

Terrance Williams Baylor SR

Marquess Wilson Wash.State JR

Robert Woods USC JR

WSAZ NewsChannel 3 645 Fifth Avenue Huntington, WV 25701 304-697-4780 WSAZ Charleston 111 Columbia Avenue Charleston, WV 25302 304-344-3521
Gray Television, Inc. - Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 162815056 -