Bush Declares 'Major Disaster' in Kentucky

By: Associated Press Email
By: Associated Press Email

FRANKFORT, Ky. (AP) - President Bush has declared several counties in eastern Kentucky a major disaster area in the wake of severe storms that ripped through the area last month.

The declaration makes federal funding available to state and local governments and certain nonprofit organizations to help cover the cost of emergency work and some cleanup. According to a White House press release, federal money is also available to help repair or replace some facilities that were damaged in last month's storm.

The release says Bush's declaration helps the counties of Carter, Floyd, Johnson, Knott, Lawrence, Leslie, Martin, Perry, and Pike.

Gov. Ernie Fletcher declared a state of emergency for the area late last month.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WSAZ NewsChannel 3 645 Fifth Avenue Huntington, WV 25701 304-697-4780 WSAZ Charleston 111 Columbia Avenue Charleston, WV 25302 304-344-3521
Gray Television, Inc. - Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 7695292 - wsaz.com/a?a=7695292