Herd places 9 on CUSA 1st team squad

Marshall's Grant Wells and Tavante Beckett are two of 9 players on CUSA 1st team
Marshall's Grant Wells and Tavante Beckett are two of 9 players on CUSA 1st team(WSAZ)
Published: Dec. 21, 2020 at 4:09 PM EST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

DALLAS – Conference USA announced its 2020 All-Conference football teams today, as selected by the league’s head football coaches. Nine schools placed at least one player on the first team, with Marshall producing a league-high nine selections, followed by C-USA Champion UAB with six and WKU with four. Marshall and UAB each had the most combined first and second-team members with 12, followed by Louisiana Tech with nine, UTSA with seven and WKU with six.

The nine Marshall first team selections include five from the Thundering Herd offense, three on their defense and one from special teams. Freshman QB Grant Wells leads C-USA in passing yards (1,977) and passing touchdowns (18), junior RB Brenden Knox has 887 rushing yards and nine rushing TDs, with both operating behind an offensive line led by seniors Josh Ball and Cain Madden and alongside redshirt senior TE Xavier Gaines. Senior LB Tavante Beckett leads C-USA in tackles per game (10.0) and tops the nation in fumbles recovered (4). Redshirt junior DE Darius Hodge is third in the league in sacks (6.5) and sixth in tackles for loss (9.0), while junior DB Steven Gilmore is tied for second in passes defended (10). Sophomore PR Talik Keaton ranks first in C-USA in punt returns with a 6.8 yard average.



OL- Alex Mollette, R-Sr., Marshall


DT- Jamare Edwards, R-Jr., Marshall

DB- Nazeeh Johnson, R-Sr., Marshall



LB – Eli Neal, So., Marshall

DB – Brandon Drayton, R-Sr., Marshall


LS – Zach Appio, R-Jr., Marshall

Copyright 2020 WSAZ. All rights reserved.