9 selected for induction into Marshall athletics hall

By  | 

HUNTINGTON, W.Va. (AP) - Former Marshall cornerbacks Dani Derricott and Melvin Cunningham are among nine selected for induction into the university's Athletics Hall of Fame.

Marshall announced the Class of 2016 on Monday. An induction dinner will be held Sept. 16 at the Memorial Student Center in Huntington.

Derricott was a three-time first team all-Mid-American Conference selection. During his career from 1997-2000, Marshall won the conference title four times and the Motor City Bowl three times.

Cunningham was a two-time All-American and All-Southern Conference selection and played on Division I-AA national championship teams in 1992 and 1996.

Others in this year's class are wrestling coach Bob Barnett, track athlete Lynn Kochendorfer, softball player Jeanne Noble Lunsford, women's basketball standout Catie Knable, two-sport athlete Bill Yanossy, football standout John Spellacy and the late Courtney Driscoll.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus