Filing deadline approaching for Charleston council candidates

Published: Jan. 22, 2018 at 6:34 PM EST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

Anyone looking to run for the 2018 general elections in the city of Charleston has the rest of the week to submit candidacy papers.

At this point, 26 people have filed to run for city council positions.

The filing period ends Jan. 27, but the City Clerk's office is closed on Saturday. If you are mailing candidacy papers, they must be postmarked by Jan. 27.

Current council members Bobby Haas, Chuck Overstreet, Jeanine Faegre, Edward Talkington, Rutha Chestnut, Mary Beth Hoover, Keeley Steele, Shannon Snodgrass, Brent Burton, Courtney Persinger, Samuel Minardi, Bobby Reishman, Bruce King, Richard Burka and Becky Ceperley are all running for re-election.

The following also filed for council spots: Jerry Tucker, Charles Price, Patrick Jones, Brent Pauley, Brandon Willard, Lloyd Hill, Chad Robinson, Brady Campbell, Robert Burton, Deanna McKinney and Anthony Woods.

Charleston's primary election is scheduled for May 8. The general election is Nov. 6.