UPDATE | New Huntington City councilman appointed, sworn in

By  | 

HUNTINGTON, W.Va. (WSAZ) -- UPDATE 8/28/19 @ 11:25 p.m.
A new Huntington City councilman was sworn in Wednesday night to represent District 9.

Ted Kluemper is sworn in to Huntington City Council to represent District 9, which includes the Altizer and Guyandotte areas.

During a special meeting, Council appointed Ted Kluemper to the vacant seat, and he was sworn in later.

Interviews were done with multiple candidates before Kluemper was appointed.

"I'm new at this, but I will be glad to take people's concerns, good and bad, and try to pass them on and see what I can do to help," Kluemper said.

The seat was vacated when former Councilwoman Tina Brooks resigned during Council's meeting on Aug. 12. District 9 includes the Guyandotte and Altizer communities.

A Huntington City councilwoman’s resignation was announced during Monday night’s meeting at City Hall.

Tina Brooks, who represented District 9, announced her resignation effective Monday. She wasn’t at Monday night’s meeting.

Council Chairman Mark Bates said Brooks announced to fellow council members that she had to resign because of a busy schedule and other commitments outside city business.

According to a news release from the city, anyone who wants to fill the vacant seat should submit to the City Clerk’s Office an application that should include, at minimum, his or her name, address, phone number, education, work experience and civic involvement. The application must be signed before the City Clerk or a notary. Additional information provided is at the applicant’s discretion.

Those who are interested must be a U.S. citizen and be a resident of their district during their term of office, among other qualifications.

District 9 includes the neighborhoods of Guyandotte, Altizer, Arlington Park and neighboring areas.

The City Clerk’s Office, located in Room 16 at City Hall, must receive applications no later than 4:30 p.m. Monday, Aug. 26. City Council will interview applicants and select a replacement to fill Brooks’ seat at 6 p.m. Wednesday, Aug. 28.

Brooks’ actual term expires on Dec. 31, 2020.