Some new rules, and new locations for voters this election season

MGN Image
MGN Image
Published: Apr. 24, 2018 at 9:16 PM EDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

Wednesday kicks off early voting across West Virginia as we steadily march toward the May primary. A few things are a little different this year though as you head out to the polls.

There’s new voter ID requirements, new polling locations in Kanawha County and new machines that are touchscreens.

Passed in 2016, the new ID law requires you to show a valid ID to poll workers. That includes a driver’s license, student ID, social security card, Medicare card, concealed carry permit, a hunting and fishing license and many other forms.

“No one's going to be turned away if they don't have ID. They can vote if they have nothing. There’ll be a provisional,” explained Kanawha County Clerk Vera McCormick.

Vera McCormick says they’ve been very busy getting things ready for primary day. They’re also setting up the new voting machines at the early voting locations around the county.

“I think this will help take traffic off the polling places on Election Day,” she said.

For the new machines, voters put their ballot in, choose their candidate, it gets printed out as a series of barcodes and then it’s put in the ballot box.

County officials say the machines will work for people with vision impairment, hearing issues and other disabilities. The poll workers are all trained on how to help you get that set up.

"It's important and I think it's their privilege to be able to get out and vote,” McCormick said.

Polls open for early voting Wednesday morning at 8:00 a.m.

In Kanawha County, there are several new polling locations in addition to the old. They include the Voter Registration Office in downtown Charleston, the Belle Town Hall, the Cross Lane’s Sheriff’s Detachment, the Elkview Sheriff’s Detachment, the Marmet Town Hall and the Sissonville Library. Each of those locations is open from 8-til-5 during the week.

Outside of Kanawha County, there are places people can early vote too. In Boone County, the only spot is the County Courthouse. In Fayette County, there’s three places: the Memorial Building in Fayetteville, the Danese Community Center in Danese, and the Montgomery City Hall. Putnam County residents can early vote at the County Courthouse in Winfield. Jackson County, West Virginia has two locations for early voting. They include the County Courthouse in Ripley and the public library Ravenswood. For Cabell County residents there are three spots set up including the County Courthouse, the County Field Office in Ona and the Marshall Student Center.

Click the link next to this story for more information from the Secretary of State’s Office before heading to the polls this election season.