West Virginia Governor lifts State of Emergency for several counties after deadly flooding

Published: Jun. 23, 2016 at 7:49 PM EDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn
UPDATE 6/29/16

CHARLESTON, W.Va. (WSAZ) -- Governor Earl Ray Tomblin has lifted a State of Emergency for 32 counties after deadly flooding.

44 counties were under a State of Emergency after last week's storms.

As of Wednesday, Kanawha, Greenbrier, Nicholas, Fayette, Clay, Roane, Summers, Webster, Pocahontas, Lincoln and Jackson counties are still under the State of Emergency.

"Lifting the State of Emergency for these 32 counties is the first step on a long road ahead that allows us to focus our state resources on those areas devastated by flood waters," Gov. Tomblin said. "In the coming days, we will continue to work together to help our hardest-hit communities dig out and rebuild. While the past several days have brought heartbreak and challenges for all of us, West Virginians are resilient people, and we rebuild our state stronger than ever."

Gov. Tomblin also announced Tuesday FEMA has granted Federal Disaster Declaration to an additional seven counties including Fayette, Clay, Roane, Summers, Monroe, Webster and Pocahontas.

The gives residents of these counties access to individual assistance, including emergency medical support and housing, and will help address immediate needs.

UPDATE 6/24/16 @ 8:15 a.m.

CHARLESTON, W.Va. (WSAZ) -- State and local emergency officials are working to help families impacted by Thursday's severe weather.

Governor Earl Ray Tomblin has declared a State of Emergency for 44 counties.

"The flooding we experienced Thursday and into today is among the worst in a century for some parts of the state," Gov. Tomblin said. "Our team in the Emergency Operations Center worked through the night and continues to coordinate efforts with local officials today.

"We understand many counties continue to experience significant problems and some waters continue to rise. Joanne and I are thinking continually about those affected by this disaster, and our thoughts and prayers are with those who lost loved ones. I appreciate the tireless efforts of first responders across the state, many of whom have volunteered to travel long distances to help those in the most affected areas."

150 members of the National Guard has been called to assist in the situation.

A State of Emergency declaration does not restrict travel or mandate the closing of businesses, according to the release. In addition, a State of Emergency declaration does not mean the state will receive federal assistance.

If you need assistance, click on the link.


CHARLESTON, W.Va. (WSAZ) -- West Virginia Governor Earl Ray Tomblin has declared a State of Emergency for 44 counties.

This excludes the Hancock, Brooke, Ohio, Marshall, Grant, Hardy, Mineral, Hampshire, Morgan, Berkeley, and Jefferson counties.

A State of Emergency gives counties access to state resources for response efforts.

West Virginians who live in counties covered under the State of Emergency can call their county emergency management agencies for assistance or information.