Grier Unitas Finalist

By  | 

MORGANTOWN, W.Va West Virginia University redshirt senior quarterback and Heisman Trophy contender Will Grier today has been named as one of the final 10 candidates for the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award as announced by the organization.

Grier already has been named a semifinalist for the Maxwell Award, signifying the national player of the year and the Davey O’Brien Award, honoring the nation’s top quarterback, and a finalist for the senior CLASS Award.

For his performance in West Virginia’s 42-41, come-from behind victory at Texas last Saturday, Grier was named the Big 12 Offensive Player of the Week, Davey O’Brien Great 8 National Quarterback of the Week, the Maxwell Award National Player of the Week and Manning Award National Quarterback of the Week.

For the season, he has completed 182-of-261 passes for 2,618 yards and 28 touchdowns.

He is ranked No. 3 nationally in yards per attempt (10.3) and pass efficiency (184.0), No. 4 in points responsible for per game (22.0), No. 5 in passing touchdowns (28) and passing yards per game (327.3), No. 6 in points responsible for (176), No. 7 in completion percentage (.697), No. 10 in total offense, No. 11 in total passing yards (2,618), No. 12 in passing yards per completion (14.4) and No. 14 in completions per game (22.8)

The Charlotte native has thrown for 300 or more yards in 16 of his 19 games in which he has played at WVU and has thrown multiple touchdown passes 17 times.

Top 10 Golden Arm Award Finalists:
• Eric Dungey, Syracuse
• Ryan Finley, NC State
• Will Grier, West Virginia
• Justin Herbert, Oregon
• Drew Lock, Missouri
• Trace McSorley, Penn State
• McKenzie Milton, UCF
• Gardner Minshew, Washington State
• Shea Patterson, Michigan
• Brett Rypien, Boise State
The 2018 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award® Presented by A. O. Smith will take place on December 7 in Baltimore, MD. The Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation, Inc. will be returning to the beautifully renovated Embassy Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor & The Grand for the presentation.

Past standout winners of the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award® include: Peyton Manning (Tennessee, 1997); Carson Palmer (USC, 2002); Eli Manning (Ole Miss, 2003); Brady Quinn (Notre Dame, 2006); Matt Ryan (Boston College, 2007); Colt McCoy (Texas, 2009); Andrew Luck (Stanford, 2011); Marcus Mariota (University of Oregon, 2014); Connor Cook (Michigan State, 2015); Deshaun Watson (Clemson, 2016) and the 2017 winner, Mason Rudolph (Oklahoma State).