Grier a Unitas Award finalist

By  | 

MORGANTOWN, W.Va West Virginia University redshirt senior quarterback and Heisman Trophy contender Will Grier has been named as one of the final five candidates for the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award as announced today by the organization.

Grier already has been named a top 15 semifinalist for Walter Camp Player of the Year, a semifinalist for the Maxwell Award, signifying the national player of the year and the Davey O’Brien Award, honoring the nation’s top quarterback, and a finalist for the senior CLASS Award.

For the season, he has completed 207-of-300 passes for 2,961 yards and 31 touchdowns. The Charlotte native has thrown for 300 or more yards in 17 of his 20 games in which he has played at WVU and has thrown multiple touchdown passes 18 times.

He is ranked No. 2 nationally in touchdowns passes per game (3.4), No. 3 in yards per attempt (9.9) and pass efficiency (180.7), No. 4 in points responsible for per game (21.6) and passing yards per game (329.0), No. 5 in passing touchdowns (31) and points responsible for (194), No. 7 in completion percentage (.690), No. 9 in total passing yards (2,961), No. 10 in passing yards per completion (14.3) and completions per game (23.0).

Top Five Golden Arm Award Finalists:
• Will Grier, West Virginia
• Drew Lock, Missouri
• McKenzie Milton, UCF
• Gardner Minshew, Washington State
• Shea Patterson, Michigan
The 2018 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award® Presented by A. O. Smith will take place on December 7 in Baltimore, Maryland. The Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation, Inc. will be returning to the beautifully renovated Embassy Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor & The Grand for the presentation.

Past standout winners of the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award® include: Peyton Manning (Tennessee, 1997); Carson Palmer (USC, 2002); Eli Manning (Ole Miss, 2003); Brady Quinn (Notre Dame, 2006); Matt Ryan (Boston College, 2007); Colt McCoy (Texas, 2009); Andrew Luck (Stanford, 2011); Marcus Mariota (University of Oregon, 2014); Connor Cook (Michigan State, 2015); Deshaun Watson (Clemson, 2016) and the 2017 winner, Mason Rudolph (Oklahoma State).